健康材料——用处、方式及理由

特邀嘉宾:Jonsara Ruth & Alison Mears
开讲时间:北京时间 10月28日 21:00

特邀嘉宾

Jonsara Ruth & Alison Mears

帕森斯设计学院健康材料实验室的创始人

健康材料实验室是帕森斯设计学院的一个设计研究实验室,致力于创造一个把人的健康放在所有设计决策中心的世界。致力于提高对当前建筑产品中使用的有毒物质的认识,我们发明、测试和实施更健康的材料替代品,使它们更有市场,更容易获得,更受下一代设计师和建筑师的欢迎,为所有人创造更健康的生活场所。健康材料实验室是一个跨学科的、国际化的、专业多样化的研究生、校友和教师的集体,他们拥有在媒体、建筑、设计、社区发展、教育和商业方面的背景。

 

Jonsara Ruth是一名设计师和艺术家,创建了Salty Labs,一个合作设计工作室,以改善环境健康,同时创造发自内心的设计空间、活动和家具。健康材料实验室设计总监,MFA室内设计项目创始总监,帕森斯设计学院副教授。在这里,她领导了一场名为“回味”(AFTERTASTE)的研讨会,为室内设计领域带来了新的定义。

Alison Mears的研究重点是破坏建筑供应链的设计策略,将人类健康纳入建筑产品评估的标准。建筑师,AIA, LEED AP,建筑学副教授,健康材料实验室主任和联合创始人。她是健康可承受材料项目(HAMP)的联合首席研究员。

 
 

视频简介

在我们的“可持续时尚高管大师班——大师访谈系列”的第五期中,主持人Bjorn Bengtsson采访了Alison Mears教授和Jonsara Ruth教授,讨论了他们的研究中心——帕森斯设计学院健康材料实验室的工作。Mears和Ruth讨论了室内建筑和时尚行业使用的材料对健康的影响和深度重叠,并介绍了丰富的令人兴奋的材料——和可能性——正在探索和使用新的、生产性的和可持续的方式。

关键摘要

访谈概况

在时尚界使用健康材料对公司和消费者都越来越重要。从可持续发展的角度来看,在任何行业中使用健康的材料都不应该损害地球或消耗自然资源。就人类健康而言,时尚的可持续性很重要,因为正如Jonsara Ruth在采访中所说的那样:“我们穿的衣服紧贴我们的皮肤,(我认为)这在人类健康中扮演着重要角色。”

 

学术界、私营部门和其他机构正在探索一些有前途的项目,以推动时尚和可持续性的未来,改善人类健康/福祉。在这些研究项目中,有一些公司正在探索生物燃料解决方案,以解决制造和生产时尚产品时产生的复杂工业(和健康)问题。时尚生物制造是一系列科学探索,利用自然的“技术”或“产品”,而不会进一步消耗或损害地球的自然资源。EvrNu、MycoWorks、Bolt Threads、Orange Fiber等公司是时尚生物制造技术的先锋,为消除浪费、降低毒性、促进动物权利等提供新鲜和可持续的解决方案。

 

设计师Stella McCartney是与这些可持续技术公司合作的先锋。2017年,她的时装公司开始与Bolt Threads建立长期合作关系,推出一系列服装。此外,Stella McCartney设计的阿迪达斯(Adidas)于2019年宣布,将推出ulta限量版的第一款服装,该服装由EvrNu开创性的纤维制成,完全由回收织物制成。正如Mears和Ruth在他们的谈话中所证实的那样,随着技术的不断发展,更健康的材料制造的可能性越来越大,生产效率也越来越高,可以有更多用于满足许多人类需求的材料——包括世界上最重要的服装和建筑/室内装饰领域。

 

“我们真的觉得我们的工作是……把人们的健康放在所有设计决策的中心,这样我们就可以为每个人创造更健康的生活环境。我们确实觉得这(工作)与时尚有直接的关系……如果我们说我们穿的衣服对我们的皮肤有好处,那么我认为这对人类健康有很大的影响。”

—— Jonsara Ruth & Alison Mearsg

 

相关参考

WeDesign

您的未来由此开始

总部:纽约

北京 | 上海 | 广州 | 深圳 | 成都 | 武汉

​社交媒体

关注我们的社交账号,了解WeDesign动态

​微信公众号

  • weibo-black
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

版权所有 2018 © WeDesign

Healthy Materials, Where, How and Why

Speaker:
Jonsara Ruth & Alison Mears
Starting:
9:00 am, Oct 28th (EST)
Expert Guest

Jonsara Ruth & Alison Mears

Co-Founder of Healthy Materials Lab at Parsons School of Design

Healthy Materials Lab is a design research lab at Parsons School of Design dedicated to creating a world in which people’s health is placed at the center of all design decisions. Committed to raising awareness about toxics used in current building products, we Invent, test, and implement  healthier material alternatives, making them more marketable, accessible, and popular for the next generation of designers and architects to create healthier places for all people to live. Healthy Materials Lab is an interdisciplinary, international, and professionally diverse collective of graduate students, alumni, and faculty with backgrounds in media, architecture, design, community development, education, and business.

 

The founders: Jonsara Ruth  Jonsara is a designer and artist and founded Salty Labs, a collaborative design studio, to improve environmental health while creating viscerally designed spaces, events, and furniture. Design Director at Healthy Materials Lab, Founding Director of the MFA Interior Design Program, and Associate Professor at Parsons School of Design. Here she led AFTERTASTE, a symposium that brings new definition to the field of interiors.  Alison Mears Mears focuses her research on design strategies that disrupt the building supply chain to incorporate human health as criteria for evaluating building products.  An architect, AIA, LEED AP, Associate Professor of Architecture, and Director and Co-Founder of Healthy Materials Lab. She is co-Principal Investigator of the Healthy Affordable Materials Project (HAMP). 

 
 

Introduction

In the fifth installment of our Executive Education in Sustainable Fashion series, moderator Bjorn Bengtsson interviews professors Alison Mears and Jonsara Ruth to discuss the work of their research center, the Healthy Materials Lab at Parsons School of Design. Mears and Ruth discuss the health impact and deep overlap in materials used by both the interior/building and fashion industries and introduce a wealth of exciting materials- and possibilities- being explored and utilized in new, productive and sustainable ways.

 

Main Topic

Using healthy materials in fashion is increasingly important for companies and consumers alike. From a sustainability standpoint, using healthy materials in any industry should by definition, not harm the earth or deplete its natural resources. In terms of human health, sustainability in fashion is important because as Jonsara Ruth states in her interview “clothing we wear is right against our skin [and] that [I think] has a big role to play in human health.”

 

There are a number of promising projects which academia, the private sector, and others are exploring to advance the future of fashion and sustainability to improve human health/well-being. Among these research ventures are companies exploring biofabricated solutions for complex industrial (and health) problems created when manufacturing and producing fashion products. Biofabrication for fashion is a series of scientific explorations which harness natural ‘technologies’ or ‘products’ without further depleting or harming the planet’s natural resources. Companies such as EvrNu, MycoWorks, Bolt Threads, Orange Fiber among others, are at the vanguard of biofabrication technologies for fashion, offering fresh and sustainable solutions to eliminating waste, reducing toxicity, promoting animal rights and beyond.

 

Designer Stella McCartney is at the vanguard of working with these sustainable technology companies for fashion. In 2017, her fashion house started a long-term partnership with Bolt Threads to create a series of garments and additionally in 2019, Adidas by Stella McCartney announced an ulta limited run of the very first garment made by EvrNu’s groundbreaking fiber created entirely from recycled fabric. As Mears and Ruth confirmed in their talk, as technology continues to develop more possibilities for healthier materials manufacturing becomes efficient and available to incorporate into materials serving many human needs- clothing and building/interiors among the world’s most important.

Quote

“We really feel that our work is... about placing people’s health at the center of all design decisions so that we can create healthier places for everybody to live. ... We do feel this [work] is in direct relationship to fashion... If we say the clothing we wear is right against our skin then that [I think] has a big role to play in human health.”

Reference

 

WeDesign

Where your future begins

810 Seventh Avenue, New York

Beijing  |  Shanghai  |  Guangzhou  |  Shenzhen  |  Chengdu  |  Wuhan

SOCIAL

Follow us on our official accounts

  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • weibo-black

WeChat

Copyright 2018 © WeDesign All rights reserved